Where I’m From

So I was in the middle of updating my “Who am I?” section today and in the middle of describing myself, I suddenly felt compelled to describe…the old me. The me that was drastically different one school year ago, two school years ago, heck even just one summer ago.

And that reminded me of a poem I’d written long ago telling of where I’m from.

It essentially describes to you all the elements that made me into the person I am today, or rather, the Jessica from 2011.

I wanted to do a Who am I poem along with, but due to time constraints, I shall leave you with a glimpse of the high school Jess for now.

Where I’m From
Jessica T. from 2011-02-26

I am from dinners with spoonfuls of sodium chloride.

     from Charmin and a color-changing nightlight.

I am from the backyard with a broken lock,

     plentiful, aromatic;

     raccoons bumbling all around.

I am from the small sweet garden strawberries,

     the long entangled grape vines;

     its fruit always looked so enticing,

     tricking me with sourness each time.

 

I’m from Lunar New Year bows and pale-yellow skin,

     from cheerful Albert and shy I-lin,

I’m from “You’re so dumb!” when I get a single B

     and “You’re such a nerd!” when I get straight A’s,

     with scrapes from P.E all over my knee.

I’m from the “Give me a second!” and “Hurry up!”

     the continuous “Yeah, okay I’m coming”,

     from athletic brothers and a know-it-all sister,

     with hyper nights followed by early mornings.

 

I am from time outs due to misbehaviour

     and Jesus Christ is our lord and saviour.

I am from some big hospital in Taiwan,

     and a mix of blood here and there,

     with red turtle cakes and mushroom-filled sticky rice.

I am from the scars my grandmother received

     which bled as she raised her children,

     from the traditional marriage of my parents

     that produced my siblings and I.

 

From the boxes since elementary under my bed

     and spiders hidden in dust bunnies that would make me stop dead.

From Shel Silverstein’s poems

     and the Magic Tree House series

     with Pokémon to catch everyday after school.

From a High School Musical friendship journal

     filled with old laughs and fights,

from secret codenames for crushes

     that I still know by heart.

 

I’m from the moments and memories,

     each special in their own way.

From defeating my worst enemies,

     do I stand here as myself today.

 

Feel and Conquer Art credit to yuumei, Deviantart
Feel and Conquer
Art credit to yuumei, Deviantart

Leave a comment