Eighth Story – Choice

alone Art credit to Tvonn9, Deviantart
alone
Art credit to Tvonn9, Deviantart

I was scared.

Growing up with no parental authorities around, my sister was all I had. Her cheerful smiles and warm hugs were what’d kept me going, even during the toughest of times.

But in the end, she too, had decided to leave me and go on first.

I was all alone now.

Looking straight into the empty space I once called home, its darkness mirrored the bleakness of my heart.

There was nothing left for me here. No people, no object, nothing.

So would it be better to move out and start a new life?

Some part of me wanted this, but at the same time, I wasn’t sure if I could. I’d lived my life putting my little sister first, but now to be responsible for only myself?

It was a strange twist I couldn’t wrap my head around.

I would work for myself, cook for myself, breathe for myself. With my mental world shifting the spotlight onto me so suddenly, it felt a little foreign.

And a little guilty.

But she wouldn’t want that, my subconsciousness chastised, reminding me of how my sister was only ever happy when she saw that I was happy. For her, I always tried to be.

Now, for me, I would try to be.

Straightening my shoulders, I made my decision and walked out the door, not daring to look back in case I got cold feet.

It was my choice.

And it will shape my future.


.

Choice
/CHois/
noun
an act of making a decision when face with two or more possibilities


.

         “Choice” is often at the centre of hot debates. Sexuality and abortion, amongst others, are the most popular, but leaving those hugely controversial topics aside (for now), today I’d like to ask: do you think love is a choice?

         Some argue that you can’t choose who you fall in love with, but is that true? We all talk about people being certain “types” and how we only like some if they fit the bill. When you start the whole “I like men/women who are…”, you are already, in a sense, narrowing down or “choosing” what kind of person you’d like to be with. Of course what you wish for may not be what you end up with, but in the end, you are also “choosing” to be together with them, are you not?

         Let’s broaden that a little to “relationships with others” in general. Do you “choose” who to be friends with, or does it just “happen”? You could say that you have no control over who you naturally “click” with, but at the same time aren’t there some friends with whom you have to work extra hard to get to know?

         So at the end of the day, I guess I (personally) see things as a bit of both. While you can certainly “choose” to stay in touch with a certain friend or go out with someone, you might not be able to help the chemistry you have by nature with some of the people you meet. A little drop of fate and a smidgen of work and bam, hello life.

Connection Art credit to yuumei, Deviantart
Connection
Art credit to yuumei, Deviantart

Leave a comment